Mr. Creepy Rates Hollywood's Latest Cheese!
Saturday, September 09, 2006
  The Covenant
5. When I saw the previews for this (which took me by surprise, as I only saw the first one a mere 2 weeks before it came out) I thought, Holy cow... they're trying to make this generation's Lost Boys. The commercial is cut to give exactly that kind of impression. It's too bad the commercial's editor didn't handle the cutting of the movie itself; it might have been much better than it was. Lost Boys, this ain't. This isn't my way of saying the movie was bad ...far from it really... but that it could have been so much more than it was. There's a lot of interesting, likable characters here, and a lot of fertile ground, story-wise. But somewhere along the production trail some halfwit had the epifany: "This is a movie directed at a teen audience, if we make it standard movie length, they're going to lose interest." The final product suffered for it. I don't know if it called for a premium channel, a TV mini-series, or just biting the bullet and making the fucking film 2+ hours long, but a lot more needed to unfold, and at a much better pace, than we ended up with. It felt like they were so rushed to get this in under time that they chopped it to the point of unfollowability. (Yes, I made that word up, but you understood it, didn't you.) There's some good stuff here, but I have to admit the parts I enjoyed most were the ones my head filled in which the samurai editors hacked out.
 
  Invincible
2. I was underwhelmed with this movie, so this is going to be short and sweet. Invincible isn't a bad movie by any means, it's...... "nice." It's got a fair amount of "feel good" going for it, and a lot of people will be extra jazzed that it's based on a real person. The acting is decent throughout. Elizabeth Banks is every man's dream girlfriend... an incredibly hot, sensative, and fun-loving girl who can drink and loves football. I was just unimpressed for my hard-earned 8 bucks. In the movie's defense, it must be hard to carefully craft a 2 hour snippet of a 3 year football career. How much of it do you show? What do you choose as your "climax"? Where do you start and end? They decided on a bit so small it's essentially anecdotal. Personally, I think they chose too little of a short but somewhat legendary career. It's worth your TV viewing time.
 
Friday, September 08, 2006
  The Descent
4. The Descent isn't a bad little horror movie, good for an afternoon's, or a really late night's, enjoyment. A pretty much straightforward "what you see is what you get" kind of movie with no surpises (though they tried to work one pointlessly into the plot). Bunch of tough, modern girls decide to go cave climbing, get trapped, and stumble upon a bunch of humanoid monsters while they're trying to get out. The work with the monsters here is excellent... inhuman, but human enough to make your skin crawl, and they're shot perfectly, in rough, "eye witnessy" kind of perspective. Got some genuine screams from the girls in the audience. Strangely, I think what sold the film, though, was the claustrophobia that was forced upon you with every shot and scene. It's not so much that you've stumbled upon flesh-eating monsters, it's that you're fucking trapped hundreds of feet underground!!... with flesh-eating monsters. Cue the mad dash to survive and escape. That's about it. Can't say I'd recommend shelling out the dough to see it in the theater, but it's probably a good rental, if only to avoid the slaughtering the network TV editors will give it someday.
 
My Photo
Name:
Location: Chicago-ish, IL
ARCHIVES
December 2005 / January 2006 / February 2006 / March 2006 / April 2006 / May 2006 / June 2006 / July 2006 / August 2006 / September 2006 / October 2006 / December 2006 / February 2007 / March 2007 / March 2008 / August 2008 / March 2009 /


Powered by Blogger

What's this all about?

This blog is basically for me... so I can remember what the hell I watched over the years. If it saves you some time and money, so much the better. But rather than use some lame-ass rating system where even a "5" can designate a really stank movie, I've chosen to use the brilliant Creepy Scale at which "1" is the point at which the film is even remotely worth seeing. Anything lower than that a 1, and your time would be better spent in a coma or stabbing yourself repeatedly in the thigh with a fork. Allow me to explain:

The Creepy Scale© of movie rating:

  0   For the love of god, no! It's two whole hours of your life that you'll be begging to have back! Not only is this not worth seeing, it may well be worth not seeing.

  1   If, while flipping through network TV channels in some dive motel, your choices are this or the Weather Channel... choose this. The parts they edit out for network broadcast won't make a bit of difference.

  2   Let's be realistic. Of course you're going to go out and see that annoying old college room mate over a few beers. But set the VCR for this as you're headed out the door. Some night at 3:00 am when the insomnia's kicked in and you're thinking about calling him again, pop this in instead. You won't feel like you wasted your night this time.

  3   Rent it if Blockbuster is out of new releases or you need to rent a movie that can be made substancially more fun by watching with a bunch of friends. It'll be better than Ishtar, I gaurentee.

  4  Movies like this make it worth subscribing to the premium movie channel of your choice just so you can avoid the year long wait that it takes to reach regular TV.

  5   It'll be great on your balls-nasty home theater system. And you'll feel all financially smug knowing you waited for it.

  6   Got a free movie pass? Now's the time, baby! The only thing seperating this from a good rental is that there's something about it that you should see on a whopping big theater screen or surrounded by the unwashed masses with bathtubs full of greasy overpriced popcorn.

  7  The Scenario: You have 2 hours worth of afternoon to waste and you're out of clean underwear. You can either go see this flick or do some laundry. Settle into those skid marks for one more day and get out there.

  8   Go ahead, take the afternoon off for a nice matinee. You'll feel like a wealthy man knowing you saw this film and only paid 5 bucks to do it.

  9   The traffic, the crowd, the wallet sucking full price admission, and the 6 dollar Twislers..... By the time you leave the theater after seeing this, they'll have all been worth it.

  10  No matter how many times you see it, this one's entertaining every single time. You won't mind paying full price for it again and again, and you'll probably want to own it as soon at it's out on DVD.