5. When I saw the previews for this (which took me by surprise, as I only saw the first one a mere 2 weeks before it came out) I thought, Holy cow... they're trying to make this generation's Lost Boys. The commercial is cut to give exactly that kind of impression. It's too bad the commercial's editor didn't handle the cutting of the movie itself; it might have been much better than it was. Lost Boys, this ain't. This isn't my way of saying the movie was bad ...far from it really... but that it could have been so much more than it was. There's a lot of interesting, likable characters here, and a lot of fertile ground, story-wise. But somewhere along the production trail some halfwit had the epifany: "This is a movie directed at a teen audience, if we make it standard movie length, they're going to lose interest." The final product suffered for it. I don't know if it called for a premium channel, a TV mini-series, or just biting the bullet and making the fucking film 2+ hours long, but a lot more needed to unfold, and at a much better pace, than we ended up with. It felt like they were so rushed to get this in under time that they chopped it to the point of unfollowability. (Yes, I made that word up, but you understood it, didn't you.) There's some good stuff here, but I have to admit the parts I enjoyed most were the ones my head filled in which the samurai editors hacked out.
| 0 | ![]() |
For the love of god, no! It's two whole hours of your life that you'll be begging to have back! Not only is this not worth seeing, it may well be worth not seeing. |
| 1 | ![]() |
If, while flipping through network TV channels in some dive motel, your choices are this or the Weather Channel... choose this. The parts they edit out for network broadcast won't make a bit of difference. |
| 2 | ![]() |
Let's be realistic. Of course you're going to go out and see that annoying old college room mate over a few beers. But set the VCR for this as you're headed out the door. Some night at 3:00 am when the insomnia's kicked in and you're thinking about calling him again, pop this in instead. You won't feel like you wasted your night this time. |
| 3 | ![]() |
Rent it if Blockbuster is out of new releases or you need to rent a movie that can be made substancially more fun by watching with a bunch of friends. It'll be better than Ishtar, I gaurentee. |
| 4 | ![]() |
Movies like this make it worth subscribing to the premium movie channel of your choice just so you can avoid the year long wait that it takes to reach regular TV. |
| 5 | ![]() |
It'll be great on your balls-nasty home theater system. And you'll feel all financially smug knowing you waited for it. |
| 6 | ![]() |
Got a free movie pass? Now's the time, baby! The only thing seperating this from a good rental is that there's something about it that you should see on a whopping big theater screen or surrounded by the unwashed masses with bathtubs full of greasy overpriced popcorn. |
| 7 | ![]() |
The Scenario: You have 2 hours worth of afternoon to waste and you're out of clean underwear. You can either go see this flick or do some laundry. Settle into those skid marks for one more day and get out there. |
| 8 | ![]() |
Go ahead, take the afternoon off for a nice matinee. You'll feel like a wealthy man knowing you saw this film and only paid 5 bucks to do it. |
| 9 | ![]() |
The traffic, the crowd, the wallet sucking full price admission, and the 6 dollar Twislers..... By the time you leave the theater after seeing this, they'll have all been worth it. |
| 10 | ![]() |
No matter how many times you see it, this one's entertaining every single time. You won't mind paying full price for it again and again, and you'll probably want to own it as soon at it's out on DVD. |