Mission Impossible 3
6 (and that's fairly generous). I don't have too much to complain about here, nor really too much to compliment. Directed by JJ Abrams (Alias), it had some nice action and a good spy feel to it. Tom Cruise, for all his offscreen nonsense, is still perfectly watchable in movies.... and, honestly, I don't want anything more from him than that. I could give a shit if he's bouncing up and down on Oprah's couch ... or Katie Holmes. So, the simple statement of "it's a nice action movie" is going to have to carry enough weight to balance the rest of this, because I've got some issues. Hollywood? ....are you listening? Look......
Stop making action movies like this!! Look you geniuses, making an "action movie" does
not mean you start showing action scenes the minute the lights go down and don't stop til 75 seconds before the credits roll! That's
not a good movie... That's
boring. Whoever told you guys that's what makes a good action movie is lying to you. Take them off your Christmas card list, they've done you a disservice. The greatest offender of this to date has been (for me)
Van Helsing, a movie filled with wild action... which I fell asleep in the middle of. Really. I did. Do you want your "action" movies doing that to people? I didn't think so. A good movie, even an "action" movie, has to have a good story behind it and..... "
pacing." Go look it up. I'll wait.
Second, a personal preference, not really a fault of the movie.
Mission Impossible has always been about the secret missions of a secret government agency. The tried and true plots revolve around carrying out the assignment, encountering glitches, and overcoming those glitches. Yet all the movies thusfar have been about circumventing the government and/or finding fault with it. This is fine for other movies, but I need the IMF working on their actual assignments, not going off the page all the time. It undermines the solidly established premise of the original TV series (like that doesn't happen with
every TVseries-to-Movie debacle).